Hometown Memories

Today, I am joining the blogging event, Hometown Memories Photo Challenge which is hosted by Carol at Hometown Memories. The premise of the event is to showcase and share the people, places and things that make your hometown special to you. I live in Washington, DC or as other Americans may call it, our Nation’s Capital. Washington, DC is indeed the Capital of the United States and America so we are not a state, which is a bummer since we are treated as a state with regards to taxation and such but do not have adequate representation in Congress, but I digress. I am here to showcase just one of the many reasons why I love my hometown.

IMG_8754

I love the country but I am IN LOVE with the city and city life. I love being close to everything and everyone and DC affords me that. DC is only around 68 square miles and has one of THE best public transportation systems so it isn’t hard to get to wherever you need to go. Although a city, we certainly have a lot of open space and vegetation. One of the things that make DC so very special to me is our ability to experience each of the four seasons in their beautiful & splendid glory. It can literally be scorching (code red) hot in the summer and below 0 freezing in the winter. Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer are what we know here and it is certainly pleasant to live in a place were you are able to transition from one season to the next. And while I do not like to be cold at all, I do love a good snow fall. Spring is what brings a lot of tourist to DC to visit our beautiful Cherry Blossoms along the Tidal Basin, which were a gift from the country of Japan in 1912.

I spent my childhood having picnics on The Mall, flying my kite at the base of the Washington Monument, snowball fights in my neighborhood, a jog around the Supreme Court, scavenger hunts at the Lincoln Memorial, lunch at Union Station and a leisurely stroll down the Tidal Basin. Though time has passed, more people have moved to the city and the landscape is changing, these will forever be the memories that I hold dear of my DC.

Live and love in positivity,

signature1

 

 

Pictures clockwise from left – The US Capitol in the Summer, Union Station in the Winter (just a few weeks ago) and the Tidal Basin in the Spring during peak Cherry Blossom bloom.
All pictures are my own.

2 thoughts on “Hometown Memories

  1. Dear Mama says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post! I could easily visualize the memories you were describing. 🙂 The Hometown Memories photo challenge is great, I wish I had learned of it sooner. It’s something that I would enjoy participating in and would tie in nicely with my blog too.

    Like

    • creativegem says:

      Aww, thank you so much!! You should do it!! I’m sure you have some pics hanging around and we all have some great memories! I would love to read about it! I also love the subject of your blog! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

